Professor Sally Dunwoodie with Premier Gladys Berejiklian at NSW Premiers Prizes For Science And Engineering

Premier's Prize winner 2017

Professor wins Premier's Prize for pregnancy research

24 October 2017

World renowned scientist, Professor Sally Dunwoodie, is one of 10 leading researchers, innovators and educators honoured in the 2017 Premier’s Prize for Science and Engineering at Government House.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian says the Prizes recognised the contribution the scientists and engineers made to our everyday lives.

Professor Sally Dunwoodie with Premier Gladys Berejiklian at NSW Premiers Prizes For Science And Engineering

"A strong and dynamic research and development system is critical to driving innovation in the state's economy," Ms Berejiklian said.

"This year's Prizes again demonstrate NSW has some of the world's best and brightest scientists and technologists across a diverse range of disciplines right here in our own backyard. Through their inspiring ingenuity and innovation this year's winners have delivered economic, environmental, health, social and technological benefits for the global community," she said.

Professor Dunwoodie was nominated for her research into the genetic and environmental causes of birth defects. Her discoveries have led to new genetic diagnostics and show the way to a future where birth defects might be prevented.

The 2017 NSW Scientist of the Year was awarded to Professor Gordon Wallace from the University of Wollongong for his groundbreaking work fusing robotics with human biology.

NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer Mary O’Kane also paid tribute to this year’s winners.

2017 NSW Premiers Prizes For Science And Engineering - Winners

“The standard of nominations for this year’s Prizes was again very high,” Professor O’Kane said. “I congratulate all of this year’s winners and thank them for the outstanding contribution they have made to science and engineering in NSW.”

The ten category prizewinners are:

1. Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry and Physics
Professor Trevor McDougall FAA, FRS (UNSW Sydney)

2. Excellence in Biological Sciences (Ecology, environmental, agricultural and organismal)
Professor Edward Holmes FAA, FRS (The University of Sydney)

3. Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences
Professor Sally Dunwoodie (Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute)

4. Excellence in Engineering and Information and Communications Technology
Associate Professor Sarah Johnson (University of Newcastle)

5. Energy Innovation in NSW
Dr Brett Hallam (UNSW Sydney)

6. NSW Early Career Researcher of the Year
Dr Susan Hua (University of Newcastle)

7. Leadership in Innovation in NSW
Professor Maria Kavallaris FAAHMS (UNSW Sydney)

8. Innovation in NSW Public Sector Science and Engineering
Dr Wayne O'Connor (NSW Department of Primary Industries)

9. Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education in NSW
Mr Brett Mckay (Kirrawee High School)

10. NSW Scientist of the Year
Professor Gordon Wallace (University of Wollongong)

-- ENDS --

For all media enquiries and interview requests, please contact:

Julia Timms
Head, Media & Communications
0457 517 355

Acknowledgement of Country

The Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute acknowledges Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and recognises the continuing connection to lands, waters and communities. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders past and present.

Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute - The Home of Heart Research for 30 Years